So, you want to delete your Apple ID. The account that links you to everything… Apple. Maybe that’s why you want to delete it. Maybe you’re now an Android fan. Or you need a fresh start. Even if you get nostalgic while signing up with your [email protected] email address. Or perhaps you simply need to get off the grid.
Whatever your reasons for torching your Apple ID, here’s how to go about it.
Before you delete, take a read
- Back up all data. Everything. You’re about to eradicate it all.
- Do you have any active subscriptions? Deletion will cancel any subscriptions at the end of their billing cycle, but you’ll have no way to access them until then. And you might find something you want to hang onto.
- Sign out of all your Apple devices. After Apple deletes the account, you won’t be able to sign out of any Apple-connected apps. Staying signed in may also prevent you from using the Apple device at all. Find My Phone might also cause issues if you don’t sign out.
Follow these steps to delete your Apple ID
- Sign into Apple’s data and privacy website with your Apple ID’s related email and password.
- Under Delete your account, give Request to delete your account a tap.
- Select a reason, or don’t, for deleting your account. ‘I need to disappear’ isn’t on the drop-down list, by the way.
- Apple will remind you what happens when you delete the account. Graphically. In great detail.
- A checkbox will appear that claims you read the T&C’s. You can lie like most of us, check the box, and continue.
- An Apple access code will appear. Write it down or copy and paste it into a document. You will need this.
- Enter the access code (which you can’t just copy and paste) to prove to Apple that you’ve noted the code.
- See the final warnings of account deletion, then click Delete account.
- Ta-da! Your account will be deleted in one to seven days. Congratulations! We’re sure you’ve done the right thing.
What have I done?
Your Apple ID Is linked to all your Apple services, such as Apple Pay, the App Store, iTunes, iMessage, and everything else with ‘i’ in front of it. Remember how we said you should back everything up first? Deletion includes emails, calendars, contacts, and messages. Once deleted, you cannot get your account back. Apple’s quite specific about that. When it’s gone, it’s gone. Remember to sign out of all your Apple devices beforehand as well, or complications will ensue.
Maybe not delete, but deactivate?
You can always just deactivate your account if you need a break? It’s far more simple to execute as well. Just head to the same website and click on deactivate account.