Outriders demo drops today

1

If you’re in the market for some free shooter action, we have some good news: the demo for Outriders drops today.

Publisher Square Enix has announced that from 7pm local time (5pm GMT/6pm CET/9am PT for those of you reading from abroad), the opening chapter of the game – billed as a “high-intensity RPG-Shooter” – will be available to play on PS5, PS4, Xbox Series X/S, Xbox One, PC (via Steam) and GeForce NOW.

The demo features a chunky three hour’s worth of content in which players can create multiple characters and try out all four classes in the game: Devastator, Pyromancer, Technomancer and Trickster.

We could go into detail about these classes, but you probably all want to watch the video instead.

There’s no word on how big the demo is to download is going to be, but the good news is that if you purchase the game on the same platform you play the demo on, your progression will be carried through to the game when it launches on 1st April this year.

Outriders has some serious pedigree

We have to confess, we’re pretty excited about Outriders. The reason being is that it’s made by People Can Fly, a developer who has yet to make a game that is anything other than exceptional. For those who haven’t heard of them, this is the studio that produced the awe-inspiring Painkiller, the criminally underrated Gears Of War: Judgement and Bulletstorm – arguably one of the finest shooters ever made on the last generation.

Outriders has a lot to live up to – here’s hoping the demo that lands this evening doesn’t crush our hopes. We’ve had enough of that sort of thing recently…

Share.

About Author

I've been writing about tech and games for around 20 years. Been playing games since I was tall enough to reach the controls on an arcade machine. Old enough to remember when games weren't something people yelled at each other about.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Outriders Demo - First impressions » Stuff

Leave A Reply