WhatsApp is working on a new feature allowing group admins to delete messages in a group. This is part of new tweaks being rolled out with WhatsApp Communities. It’s already possible to delete messages… for yourself. This change will permit group admins to delete the offending message for everyone.
According to WABetaInfo the feature is called Delete Messages For Everyone. How it works is very simple. When a message is deleted by a group admin, the rest of the group will see who deleted it, and when. The admin will be notified that they are deleting someone else’s message for everyone in the chat. The admin will also be informed that their actions, and name, will be broadcast to the group.
The feature will probably go hand-in-hand with a future WhatsApp tweak. The platform plans to extend the time it is possible to delete a message for everyone to 60 hours. That’ll give group admins two-and-a-half days to deploy the eye-bleach.
WhatsApp to come
WABetaInfo tweeted in April that WhatsApp has a new Communities feature inbound, which provides additional features for group chats. Features like file sharing for sizes up to 2GB, emoji reactions, and group calls of up to 32 people.
The ability for admins to delete messages in group chats is still under development. It has reportedly not been rolled out to beta testers.WhatsApp has yet to announce a launch date for Delete Messages For Everyone, as well as Communities.