Twitter has rolled out a new feature for all users, both mobile and desktop, that will allow them to unclutter their main feeds at the touch of a button. Or several touches, but they all do the same thing. Twitter now allows you to ‘mute’ followers, preventing their tweets and interactions from showing up in your feed.
Just under which circumstances this would be useful isn’t explained but we’d imagine that users may want to silence a prolific but sometimes pointless follower/followed account without a) hurting their feelings and b) losing the person concerned. According to Twitter, the person that users have decided not to listen to will “…still be able to fave, reply to, and retweet your Tweets; you just won’t see any of that activity in your timeline.”
In addition, they won’t be notified that you’ve decided that they are too annoying/verbal to have clogging up your main stream of information so there shouldn’t be any pain coming from that side. Until you’ve neglected to reply to their fifth or sixth consecutive tweet, we’d imagine. Still, Twitter does say that users can unmute a silenced account at the touch of a button so it doesn’t have to be permanent.
The change has arrived for web users, as well as those on Android and iOS and also the Tweetdeck desktop app, though it may take some time for everyone to get access to the function. The setting can be found on the same menu that contains the Block/Report User options.